Faculty Council

Bylaws and Organization

  • Seven faculty, four of whom must be tenured and at least three who have been on the faculty for a minimum of three years.
  • The Dean of the College of Nursing, ex officio.
  • The chair-elect shall be tenured and elected by members of the Faculty Council, and become Chairperson after one year of service.
  • The chair and voting members cannot currently hold the title of Associate Dean.


  • Provides liaison between faculty and administration, the College’s staff, and the wider University community.
  • Represents the faculty of the College of Nursing.
  • Provides a forum for faculty discussion of current or impending issues.
  • Develops and disseminates the opinions of faculty to other committees, task forces and work groups within the University at the direction of the faculty.
  • Identifies candidates and prepares the ballot for all standing committees and councils of the College of Nursing, as appropriate.
  • Solicits nominations for standing committees and councils.
  • Obtains information regarding eligibility of nominees for standing committees and councils.
  • Prepares the slate of nominees for election to all standing committees and councils, as appropriate.
  • Oversees the distribution of the slate of nominees for faculty election purposes in a timely manner.

Who We Are

  • Julie Ossege (2019-2021); Chair (2020-2021)
  • Anthony Carney (2020-2022)
  • Melanie Hardin-Pierce (2019-2021)
  • Lynn Kelso (2020-2022)
  • Ana Maria Linares (2019-2021)
  • Julie Marfell (2020-2022)
  • Zim Okoli (2020-2022)