Hall of Fame

Established in 2006, the College of Nursing Hall of Fame identifies distinguished graduates and their extraordinary contributions to the nursing profession. At the inaugural induction ceremony, Carolyn Williams, PhD, RN, FAAN, dean emeritus of the College, reminded those in attendance, “Our honorees are symbolic of the best of our community of graduates and by celebrating them, we are celebrating all of our graduates.”

Below includes the 15 nurse leaders who have been inducted to the CON Hall of Fame. 

2017 Class of Inductees

Chief Operating Officer/Chief Nursing Officer
Baptist Health Lexington
BSN 1987, MSN 1990, DNP 2009

Sheila H. Ridner, PhD, RN, FAAN
Director, PhD in Nursing Science Program
Martha Rivers Ingram Professor of Nursing
Vanderbilt University School of Nursing
BSN 1978

Marcia K. Stanhope, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor Emeritus, UK College of Nursing
Former Director of Good Samaritan Nurse-Managed Center
BSN 1967

Colleen H. Swartz, DNP, MSN, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, FNAP
Chief Nurse Executive/Chief Administrative Officer
UK HealthCare
BSN 1987, DNP 2011


Gail A. Wolf, PhD, RN, FAAN
Clinical Professor
University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing
Former Chief Nursing Officer
University of Pittsburgh Health Care System, MSN 1978


2011 Class of Inductees

Melissa D. Avery, PhD, RN, CNM, FACNM, FAAN
MSN 1981
Professor and Chair
Child and Family Health Cooperative Unit,
University of Minnesota School of Nursing

Col. Marla J. De Jong, PhD, RN, CCNS, FAAN
PhD 2005
Interim Associate Dean, Professor
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences


Vicki Hines-Martin, PhD, RN, CNS, FAAN
PhD 1994
Professor and Director
Office of Disparities and Community Engagement,
University of Louisville School of Nursing

Tonda L. Hughes, PhD, RN, FAAN
MSN 1981
Associate Dean for Global Health, Nursing Collegiate Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) College of Nursing

Juliann G. Sebastian, PhD, RN, FAAN
BSN 1974; MSN 1977
Dean and Professor
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Nursing, Omaha, Nebraska



2007 Class of Inductees

Nancy Dickenson-Hazard, MSN, RN, CNP, FAAN
BSN 1968
Former Chief Executive Officer
Sigma Tau International, Indianapolis, Indiana


Sue Thomas Hegyvary, PhD, RN, FAAN
BSN 1965
Dean Emeritus
University of Washington School of Nursing, Seattle, Washington


Alice Gertrude Herman, PhD, RN, CNM
MSN 1972
Nursing pioneer in rural and frontier areas of America, Harrodsburg, Kentucky



Cynda Hylton Rushton, PhD, RN, FAAN
BSN 1978
Anne and George L. Bunting Professor of Clinical Ethics
Berman Institute of Bioethics, School of Nursing, John Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland


Elizabeth (Betsy) Elder Weiner, PhD, RN-BC, FAAN, FACMI
BSN 1975
Senior Associate Dean for Educational Informatics and Professor of Informatics
Vanderbilt University School of Nursing, Nashville, Tennessee