2021 Summer Session

2021 Summer Session - Important Dates

First day of classes          May 17 
Midterm         June 29 
End of summer session    August 11

2021 Summer Session Calendar

March

  • March 15 - Monday -- Priority filing deadline for financial aid for the 2021 Summer Session

April

  • April 1 - Thursday -- Last day for filing an application for a May 2021 or August 2021 undergraduate or graduate degree online in myUK
  • April 16 - Friday -- Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2021 Summer Session
  • April 22 - Thursday -- Deadline for submission of application and all required documents to the Office of Admissions for undergraduate admission for the 2021 Summer Session

May

  • May 16 - Sunday -- Last day students enrolled in the full 12-week summer session, the first 4-week summer session, the first 6-week summer session, and/or the first 8-week summer session may officially drop a course or cancel registration with the University Registrar for a full refund of tuition and fees
  • May 17 - Monday -- First day of classes
  • May 17-18 - Monday through Tuesday -- Late registration for returning students not already registered and new applicants cleared late for admission. A late fee is assessed to students who register late.
  • May 19 - Wednesday -- Last day for students in the Employee Educational Program to submit EEP form to Human Resource Services for tuition waiver for the 2021 Summer Session
  • May 21 - Friday -- Payment deadline of registration fees and/or housing and dining fees -- if total amount due is not paid as indicated on the account statement, a late payment fee of 1.5 percent of the amount past due will be assessed
  • May 31 - Monday -- Memorial Day -- Academic Holiday

June

  • June 2 - Wednesday -- Last day for doctoral candidates for the August 2021 degree to submit a Notification of Intent to schedule a final exam in the Graduate School
  • June 14 - Monday -- Last day students enrolled in the second 4-week summer session and/or the second 8-week summer session may officially drop a course or cancel registration with the University Registrar for a full refund of tuition and fees
  • June 16 - Wednesday -- Deadline for submission of application and all required documents to the Office of Undergraduate Admission and University Registrar for change of residency status for the 2021 Summer Session
  • June 18 - Friday -- Juneteenth -- Academic Holiday
  • June 29 - Tuesday -- Midterm of 2021 Summer Session
  • June 29 - Tuesday -- Last day students enrolled in the second 6-week summer session may officially drop a course or cancel registration with the University Registrar for a full refund of tuition and fees

July

  • July 5 - Monday -- Independence Day -- Academic Holiday
  • July 13 - Tuesday -- Last day students enrolled in the third 4-week summer session may officially drop a course or cancel registration with the University Registrar for a full refund of tuition and fees
  • July 14 - Wednesday -- Last day candidates for an August 2021 graduate degree can schedule a final examination in the Graduate School
  • July 23 - Friday -- Deadline for applying for admission to the Graduate School for the 2021 Fall Semester
  • July 28 - Wednesday -- Last day for candidates for an August 2021 graduate degree to sit for the final examination in the Graduate School

August

  • August 2-August 13 - Monday through Friday -- Final Grading window is open. The final deadline for submission of grades online in the grading portal is 5:00 p.m., August 13.
  • August 4 - Wednesday -- Last day for candidates for an August degree to submit thesis/dissertation for formal review to the Graduate School
  • August 11 - Wednesday -- Last day for candidates for an August 2021 degree to submit final revised thesis/dissertation (EDT) for acceptance by the Graduate School for those students who first submitted August 4
  • August 11 - Wednesday -- End of 2021 Summer Session
  • August 12 - Thursday -- Last day for students in the Employee Educational Program registered through August 5 to submit EEP form to Human Resource Services to confirm 2021 Fall Semester registration and tuition waiver
  • August 13 - Friday -- Final deadline for submission of grades online in the grading portal is 5:00 p.m.