Congratulations to UK SRC’s Dr. Dibakar Bhattacharyya, winner of the 2018 Sturgill Award! The Sturgill Award is named in honor of William B. Sturgill, who contributed to higher education in Kentucky through his gifts and services. This prestigious award is presented annually to a graduate faculty member for outstanding contributions to UK Graduate education. UK Provost David Blackwell presented the award to Dr. Bhattacharyya at the UK Faculty Awards Ceremony on Thursday, April 19, 2018.

Dr. Bhattacharyya is a University Alumni Professor of Chemical Engineering celebrating his 50th anniversary at UK. Over the course of his career, he has published over 185 archival papers, 35 book chapters, and 9 patents and has been the recipient of numerous honors and awards. He leads UK SRC’s Project #5: Chloro-Organic Degradation by Polymer Membrane Immobilized Iron-Based Particle Systems. Known as one of the leading authorities in the world on membrane science, Dr. Bhattacharyya and his team are working to develop integrated cost-effective technologies for remediating chlorinated organic compounds using functionalized membranes.


From L to R: UK Provost David Blackwell, Dr. Dibakar Bhattacharyya, UK President Eli Capilouto.