Minutes of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky, Tuesday, May 8, 2012.

The Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of the University of Kentucky met on Tuesday, May 8, 2012 at 8:00 a.m. in the Room A on the 18th floor of the Patterson Office Tower.

A. Meeting Opened

Dr. E. Britt Brockman, chair of the Executive Committee, called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. and asked Ms. Sandy Bugie Patterson, secretary of the Executive Committee, to call the roll.

B. Roll Call

The following members of the Executive Committee were present: E. Britt Brockman (chair), Pamela T. May, Terry Mobley, James W. Stuckert, Barbara Young, and Sandy Bugie Patterson (ex officio). Ms. Patterson reported that all members were present.

General Counsel Barbara Jones was also in attendance.

C. Presidential Evaluation

Dr. Brockman introduced the three items that were to be discussed regarding the Presidential Evaluation. They were to approve the facilitator, approve constituent groups, and approve the general outline of questions.

Dr. Brockman updated the committee regarding the identification of a facilitator. He spoke with Dr. David Hardesty, President Emeritus of West Virginia University. Dr. Brockman was confident that Dr. Hardesty would be well suited to the task of facilitating the President's evaluation. Mr. Mobley moved the Executive Committee accept Dr. David Hardesty as facilitator. Mr. Stuckert seconded the motion and it carried without dissent.

Dr. Brockman asked the committee for discussion regarding the selection of constituency groups. Pursuant to the constituent groups presented in CR 1, the eight groups identified were discussed. Mr. Stuckert moved that Chair Brockman be authorized to approach representatives of the eights groups approved by the Board of Trustees. Ms. May seconded the motion and it carried without dissent.

The third item to be discussed was the type of evaluative questions to be asked of the constituents. Reviews and comments of the proposed questions were received from the University Senate (compiled by Senate Council Chair Hollie Swanson), Student Government representative (Trustee Micah Fielden), a faculty survey compiled by Trustee Dr. John Wilson, and comments from Trustee Dr. Irina Voro. Ms. Young moved that the draft set of questions be approved. Ms. May seconded the motion and it carried without dissent.

D. <u>Meeting Adjourned</u>

With no further business to come before the Executive Committee, Dr. Brockman moved for the meeting to adjourn. Mr. Mobley seconded the motion, and the meeting adjourned at 8:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sandy Bugie Patterson Secretary, Executive Committee