PR 3

Office of the President June 19, 2020

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation</u>: that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of the individuals on the attached Exhibit I as University Research Professors for 2020 - 2021.

<u>Background:</u> The University Research Professorships were established by the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees in 1976 to recognize outstanding research achievements by members of its faculty.

The <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u> for Research has an overall objective to expand scholarship, creative endeavors, and research across the full range of disciplines to focus on the most important challenges of the Commonwealth. Strategic Initiatives to achieve this overall objective include investing in and recognizing areas of scholarly excellence, and recruiting and retaining outstanding faculty, staff, and students.

To align with the overall objective for Research within the <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u>, the revised University Research Professors Program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship, and creative endeavors within each college. College leadership developed criteria for excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise, and then nominated faculty who exceled at these criteria. The purpose of the revised University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of these scholars across the full range of disciplines at the University of Kentucky.

Action taken:	☑ Approved	Disapproved	Other	
---------------	------------	-------------	-------	--

Exhibit I

Name	College and Department
Erin Abner	Public Health Epidemiology
Susanne Arnold	Medicine Markey Cancer Center
Kristin Ashford	Nursing
Allan Chen	Gatton College of Business and Economics Marketing
Seth DeBolt	Agriculture, Food, and Environment Horticulture
Renée Fatemi	Arts and Sciences Physics and Astronomy
Rae Goodwin	Fine Arts Arts and Visual Studies
J. Todd Hastings	Engineering Electrical and Computer
Kathryn L. Moore	Law
H. Dan O'Hair	Communication and Information Communication
Amy Murrell Taylor	Arts and Sciences History
Linda Van Eldik	Medicine Neurosci/ Sanders-Brown Center on Aging
Steven Van Lanen	Pharmacy Pharmaceutical Sciences