Office of the President April 25, 2025

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation:</u> that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of the individuals on the attached Exhibit I as University Research Professorships for 2025 - 2026.

<u>Background:</u> The University Research Professorships were established by the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees in 1976 to recognize outstanding research achievements by members of its faculty.

The University Strategic Plan includes the principle of Inspiring Ingenuity, which advances a culture of innovation and builds upon the University's signature accomplishments in research to develop solutions that attract prosperity and well-being to Kentucky and its citizens. Consistent with the principles of Inspiring Ingenuity, the University Research Strategic Plan has as a major objective to foster a culture of research success to retain and develop outstanding faculty.

Toward these principles and objectives, the University Research Professors Program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship and creative endeavors within each college. Individuals who displayed excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise were nominated based on criteria developed by college leadership. The purpose of the University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of these scholars across the full range of disciplines at the University of Kentucky.

		_		
Action taken: ☑ Approved ☐ Disapproved ☐ Other	approved	red ☐ Disapproved	Approved	Action taken:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS EXHIBIT I

NAME	DEPARTMENT	COLLEGE
Daniel K. Howe	Veterinary Science	Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
Chris Richards	Chemistry	College of Arts and Sciences
Scott Hutson	Anthropology	College of Arts and Sciences
William Gerken	Finance and Quantitative Methods	Gatton College of Business and Economics
Kimberly A. Parker	Integrated Strategic Communication	College of Communication and Information
Mauro P. Santamaria	Oral Health Practice	College of Dentistry
Daniel Vivian	Historic Preservation	College of Design
Neal H. Hutchens	Educational Policy Studies and Evaluation	College of Education
Zach Agioutantis	Mining Engineering	Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering
Donna Lee Kwon	School of Music	College of Fine Arts
Nicholas Heebner	Athletic Training and Clinical Nutrition	College of Health Sciences
Michael D. Murray	Law Instruction	J. David Rosenberg College of Law
Kenneth S. Campbell	Department of Internal Medicine	College of Medicine
M. Paul Murphy	Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry	College of Medicine
Ty Borders	Nursing Instruction	College of Nursing
David J. Feola	Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science	College of Pharmacy
Krystle A. Lang Kuhs	Department of Epidemiology and Environmental Health	College of Public Health
Rajeev Darolia	Martin School of Public Policy and Administration	The Graduate School