PR₁

Office of the President April 26, 2024

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation:</u> that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of the individuals on the attached Exhibit I as University Research Professorships for 2024 - 2025.

<u>Background:</u> The University Research Professorships were established by the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees in 1976 to recognize outstanding research achievements by members of its faculty.

The University Strategic Plan includes the principle of Inspiring Ingenuity, which advances a culture of innovation and builds upon the University's signature accomplishments in research to develop solutions that attract prosperity and well-being to Kentucky and its citizens. Consistent with the principles of Inspiring Ingenuity, the University Research Strategic Plan has as a major objective to foster an inclusive culture of research success to retain and develop outstanding faculty.

Toward these principles and objectives, the University Research Professors Program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship and creative endeavors within each college. Individuals who displayed excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise were nominated based on criteria developed by college leadership. The purpose of the University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of these scholars across the full range of disciplines at the University of Kentucky.

Action taken:	☑ Approved	☐ Disapproved	☐ Other_	

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS EXHIBIT I

NAME	DEPARTMENT	COLLEGE
David L. Harmon	Animal and Food Sciences	Martin-Gatton College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
Michelle M. Martel	Psychology	College of Arts and Sciences
Haralambos Symeonidis	Hispanic Studies	College of Arts and Sciences
Carlos Lamarche	Economics	Gatton College of Business and Economics
Shannon M. Oltmann	School of Information Science	College of Communication and Information
Octavio A. González	Oral Health Practice	College of Dentistry
Rebekah Radtke	School of Interiors	College of Design
Jennifer Grisham	Early Childhood, Special Education, and Counselor Education	College of Education
Guoqiang Yu	Biomedical Engineering	Stanley and Karen Pigman College of Engineering
Olivia Swedberg Yinger	School of Music	College of Fine Arts
Joshua A. Douglas	Law	J. David Rosenberg College of Law
Gregory A. Jicha	Neurology	College of Medicine
Patrick Sullivan	Neuroscience	College of Medicine
Thomas Prisinzano	Pharmaceutical Sciences	College of Pharmacy
Philip M. Westgate	Biostatistics	College of Public Health
William Hoyt	Martin School of Public Policy and Administration	The Graduate School