Office of the President April 28, 2023

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation:</u> that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of the individuals on the attached Exhibit I as University Research Professorships for 2023 - 2024.

<u>Background:</u> The University Research Professorships were established by the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees in 1976 to recognize outstanding research achievements by members of its faculty.

The University Strategic Plan includes the principle of Inspiring Ingenuity, which advances a culture of innovation and builds upon the university's signature accomplishments in research to develop solutions that attract prosperity and well-being to Kentucky and its citizens. Consistent with the principles of Inspiring Ingenuity, the University Research Strategic Plan has as a major objective to foster an inclusive culture of research success to retain and develop outstanding faculty.

Toward these principles and objectives, the University Research Professors Program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship and creative endeavors within each college. Individuals who displayed excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise, were nominated based on criteria developed by college leadership. The purpose of the University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of these scholars across the full range of disciplines at the University of Kentucky.

.				
Action taken:	⊻ Approved	☐ Disapproved	☐ Other	

University Research Professorships

Exhibit I

NAME	DEPARTMENT	COLLEGE
Feng Li	Veterinary Science	Agriculture, Food and Environment
Ann C. Morris	Biology	Arts and Sciences
Crystal Wilkinson	English	Arts and Sciences
Allison Gordon	Integrated Communication	Communication and Information
Luciana Macchion Shaddox	Periodontology	Dentistry
Michael McKay	School of Architecture	Design
Melinda J. Ickes	Kinesiology and Health Promotion	Education
YuMing Zhang	Electrical and Computer Engineering	Engineering
Dieter Hennings Yeomans	School of Music	Fine Arts
Brian Murtha	Marketing and Supply Chain	Gatton Business and Economics
Ron Zimmer	Martin School of Public Administration	Graduate School
Matthew Hoch	Athletic Training and Clinical Nutrition	Health Sciences
Christopher M. Norris	Pharmacology and Nutritional Sciences	Medicine
William Walton Stoops	Behavioral Science	Medicine
Björn Bauer	Pharmaceutical Sciences	Pharmacy
Erin N. Haynes	Epidemiology and Environmental Health	Pharmacy