PR 3

Office of the President May 1, 2018

Members, Board of Trustees:

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH PROFESSORSHIPS

<u>Recommendation</u>: that the Board of Trustees approve the naming of the individuals on the attached Exhibit I as University Research Professors for 2018-2019.

<u>Background:</u> The University Research Professorships were established by the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees in 1976 to recognize outstanding research achievements by members of its faculty.

The <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u> for Research has an overall objective to expand scholarship, creative endeavors, and research across the full range of disciplines to focus on the most important challenges of the Commonwealth. Strategic Initiatives to achieve this overall objective include investing in and recognizing areas of scholarly excellence, and recruiting and retaining outstanding faculty, staff, and students.

To align with the overall objective for Research within the <u>2015-2020 Strategic Plan</u>, the revised University Research Professors Program recognizes excellence across the full spectrum of research, scholarship, and creative endeavors within each college. College leadership developed criteria for excellence in research and scholarly activity within their area of expertise, and then nominated faculty who exceled at these criteria. The purpose of the revised University Research Professorship program is to recognize and publicize research accomplishments of these scholars across the full range of disciplines at the University of Kentucky.

Action taken: Approved Disapproved Other

Exhibit I

Name	College and Department
David Van Sanford	College of Agriculture Food and Environment, Plant and Soil Sciences
Matthew Zook	College of Arts & Sciences Geography
Heide Gluesing-Luerssen	College of Arts & Sciences Mathematics
Nancy Harrington	College of Communication and Information Communications
Jennifer Wilhelm	College of Education Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Education
Rick Honaker	College of Engineering Mining Engineering
Herman Farrell	College of Fine Arts Theater and Dance
Daniel Brass	Gatton College of Business and Economics Management
Brian Noehren	College of Health Sciences Rehabilitation Science
Richard Ausness	College of Law
Sharon Walsh	College of Medicine Behavioral Science
Mark Williams	College of Medicine Internal Medicine
Jon Thorson	College of Pharmacy Pharmaceutical Sciences
Heather Bush	College of Public Health Biostatistics