Sarah Bennett Holmes Award Luncheon




Nominations are closed for one of the University of Kentucky’s most respected recognitions, the 2020 Sarah Bennett Holmes Award, sponsored by the UK Women’s Forum.

All nominees will be recognized during the annual Sarah Bennett Holmes Awards luncheon beginning 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, March 25, at the Gatton Student Center Ballroom. Information about the luncheon will be available in February.

For more information about the Sarah Bennett Holmes Award or the luncheon, contact event chair Beth Hanneman at You can also follow the Women’s Forum on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @UKWomensForum for information about the award and luncheon.


Visit our Facebook page for the complete event photo album.

The Award

The Sarah Bennett Holmes Award recognizes two female UK employees, one faculty member and one staff member, for their contributions to issues that affect women at the University and across the Commonwealth. These awards bring recognition for efforts that would otherwise go unnoticed through typical channels. Award winners will receive a prize of $1000. All nominees will be recognized during the annual Sarah Bennett Holmes Awards luncheon in March.


Sarah Bennett Holmes, a distinguished former Dean of Women at the University of Kentucky, tirelessly championed the rights of women throughout her career. Widowed at a young age, Holmes raised four children while completing her own education. She then began a successful career at UK where she inspired young women to persevere in the face of hardship and pursue their career goals. Among her accomplishments, Holmes developed work programs for women during the Depression.

In her honor, the UK Women's Forum created the Sarah Bennett Holmes Award. Since 1994, the annual Sarah Bennett Holmes Award has been bestowed upon female employees who have achieved professional and personal success while promoting the growth and well-being of all women at the University of Kentucky and beyond.


Past Recipients

2019 Micaha Hughes  College of Engineering

2019 Janet Lumpp  College of Engineering

2018 Lisa Collins College of Agriculture, Food, and Environment 

2018 Debra Moser College of Nursing

2017 Christia Brown College of Arts & Sciences, Psychology
2017 Kimberly Sayre College of Engineering
2016 Kristin Ashford College of Nursing
2016 Nicole Waite Nurse Recruiting
2015 Pamela Remer College of Education
2015 Joanne Brown University Health Service
2014 Elisia Cohen Department of Communication
2014 Meg Marquis The Honors Program
2013 Lynne Jensen College of Nursing
2013 Kathleen Sheppard-Jones Human Development Institute
2012 Ann Bassoni Work Life Department
2012 Gail Kennedy UK Libraries
2011 Louise Graham College of Law
2011 Dana Walton-Maculay Dean of Students
2010 Christy Burch Violence Intervention and Prevention Center
2010 Diane Snow Dept. of Anatomy and Neurobiology
2009 C. Lynn Hiler Chellgren Center for Undergraduate Excellence
2009 Lynda Brown Wright Dept.of Educational, School & Counseling Psychology
2008 Suzanne Springate UK Healthcare
2008 Sheila Woods College of Medicine
2007 Penny Cox Information Technology
2007 Joanna Badagliacca College of Arts & Sciences
2006 Jeanette Caldwell Human Resources
2006 Nancy Brown Johnson Gatton College of Business & Economics
2005 Ann Amerson Pharmacy Practice and Science
2005 Carol Jordan Center for Research on Violence Against Women
2004 Dorothy Brockopp College of Nursing
2003 Jacqueline Gibson Internal Medicine
2002 Kim Anderson College of Engineering
2001 Louise Stone Experiential Education
2000 Suzanne Scheff College of Engineering
1999 Pamella Shaw Kentucky Community Cancer Program
1998 Venda Ridgeway UK Postal Service
1997 Linda Linville Kentucky Cancer Program
1996 Abby Marlatt Professor Emeritus, College of Human Environmental Science
1995 Cheryl Birch Dept. of Opthamology
1994 Betty Gabehart UK Advising Center