University of Kentucky College of Agriculture
 

ABOUT THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY & LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT

Who we are and
what we do !

 

Our Mission

We strengthen the capacities of individuals, organizations, and communities to act on their shared visions and challenges.

Our faculty has strong disciplinary training in such fields as communication, education, and sociology and takes pride in their disciplinary homes. When it comes to our overall focus, however, we are moving beyond the disciplinary approach of the past. Believing it best represents contemporary approaches to 21st century reality, we are more about the processes of functioning effectively in community and fostering ethical leadership.

Emphasis areas.

Community and organizational development

Community communication

Agricultural education

Community-based education

Leadership development

We value, encourage, and foster:

• learning           -  enhancing access to educational opportunities for all;

• engagement     -  collaborating with diverse institutions, communities,
                                 and people to improve lives
; and

discovery         -  expanding knowledge through research.

 

Our History

Formed in the then College of Agriculture in 2002, the Department of Community & Leadership Development brought faculty from rural sociology, agricultural education, agricultural communication, and program and staff development together in one unit.

Forming a new department out of our constituent pieces has meant changes for each and some firsts not only for the department but in the history of the College of Agriculture at the University of Kentucky. For example, both our undergraduate and graduate degree programs have been reorganized to better integrate and utilize the resources of the entire department; the agricultural communications program has been refocused on community communication to highlight the fundamental role of communication in both community and leadership development; and programs which were previously instruction-based (community communication and agricultural education) now contain active and successful research components. 
 

 

Location

We are located on floors 3, 5, and 7 of the W. P. Garrigus Bldg. on the University of Kentucky campus at 325 Cooper Dr. (Corner of Nicholasville Road and Cooper Drive) in Lexington KY. Reception and information is in 510.

 

 

Contact Us

By Mail: Department of Community & Leadership
500 Garrigus Bldg.
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40546-0215

By phone: 859-257-7587

By fax: 859-257-1164

For specific information on our undergraduate degree programs, contact:

Dr. Stacy Vincent, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Career and Technical Education (Agricultural Education), 859-257-7588, stacy.vincet@uky.edu

Kris Ricketts, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Community and Leadership Development,
859-257-3767,
k.ricketts@uky.edu

For specific information on our graduate degree program, contact:

Dr. Rosalind Harris, Director of Graduate Studies, 859-257-3471, rosalind.harris@uky.edu

For specific information on one of our emphasis areas, contact:

Community and Organizational Development, Dr. Lorraine Garkovich, 858-257-7581, lorraine.garkovich@uky.edu

Community Communication, Dr. Seungahn Nah, 859-257-1509, seungahn.nah@uky.edu

Agricultural Education, Dr. Rebekah Epps, 859-257-3275, rebekah.epps@uky.edu

Community-based Education, Dr. Bryan Hains, 859-257-7588, bryan.hains@uky.edu

Leadership Development, Dr. Kristina Ricketts, 859-257-3767, k.ricketts@uky.edu

For general information on the Department, contact:

Dr. Gary Hansen, Chair, 859-257-7586, ghansen@uky.edu

Ms. Ruth Durham, Administrative Assistant, 859-257-7587, ruth.durham@uky.edu

   

 Community & Leadership Developmenttt University of Kentucky 500 Garrigus Building Lexington, KY 40546-0215 Phone: (859) 257-7587 Fax: (859) 257-1164
Questions/Comments to Bruce Gage, Webmaster An Equal Opportunity University, University of Kentucky, College of Agriculture Copyright
 

MENU


Our Mission

Our History

Location

Contact Us