NEWS                           SEMINARS                Position Announcements

  What's Happening in the Department


Conflict Resolution Workshop
November 11, 2008

<For more info click here>

KCMP Offers Free Journalism Workshops to Community

Lori Garkovich has been selected as the winner of the 2008 Bonnie Teater Community Development Educator Lifetime Achievement Award which is sponsored by the Southern Rural Development Center.

Seungahn Nah co-author Deborah Chung from the UK School of Journalism of Telecommunications,
won the Top Faculty Paper Award from the AEJMC Community Journalism Interest Group.

Seungahn Nah has received funding from New Voices which is project of J-Lab:
The Institute for Interactive Journalism at the University of Maryland.
Seugahn's project is titled "Kentucky Citizen Media Project: The Lexington Commons"

CTE/CCLD student recipients of the Student Council Outstanding Student Awards: 
Freshman          Hillary Proctor                AED major
Sophomore        Ardena Gojani                PSL major
Junior                Adam French                 PSL major
Senior               Brittany Wilkinson          AED major

Congratulations to Crystal Daugherty (PSL)

 admitted to Masters in Communication program, Texas Christian University

Congratulations to John Mains (PSL)
admitted to Martin School of Public Administration, UK

Congratulations to Taylor Ammerman (PSL)
recipient of a 2008-2009 Chellgren Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Kenneth Jones receives this year's Outstanding New Extension Faculty Award which was presented by the Kentucky Association of State Extension Professionals

Congratulations to: 

Adam French (PSL major) for election as Senator-at-large for UK Student Government (2008-2009 academic year)

Sierra Enlow (PSL major) for election as College of Agriculture Senator for UK Student Government (2008-2009 academic year)

Derek Smith (CLD Master’s student) for election as Graduate School Senator for UK Student Government (2008-2009 academic year) 

Donna Hancock as recipient for the Gamma Sigma Delta’s Outstanding Master’s Thesis (2008)

2 PSL students (Ardena Gojani and Cecil Shelton) will be traveling to the Republic of Georgia for 4 weeks this summer to work with students and nonprofit organizations on agricultural development issues. This project is sponsored by USDA

Michael Geneve (CLD Master’s Candidate) will be traveling to Indonesia this summer to team-teach (with Dr. Ron Hustedde) a short course on community development principles for nonprofit professionals

The Ohio State University's College of Food, Agriculture and Environmental Sciences Alumni Society presented Tracy Kitchel its 2008 Young Professional Achievement Award

Ron Hustedde has been selected to receive the 2007 National Excellence in Extension Award which is given by the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grand Colleges (NASULGC).

This program targets 22 tobacco-dependent counties:  Adair, Allen, Butler, Casey, Clay Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Green, Hart, Laurel, Marion, Metcalfe, Monroe, McCreary, Pulaski Russell, Taylor, Warren, Washington, and Wayne. 

Congratulations to Tracy Kitchel who will serve as the director for the new  Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning within the College.

Martha Nall and Kenneth Jones received recognition at the Annual Meeting of the Kentucky Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi.

The Agricultural Education at UK program walked away from the Southern AAAE Research Conference in Mobile, AL with several research awards. 


Upcoming Seminars

2007/2008 Rural & Development Studies Seminar Series Upcoming Schedule:

November 30th
:  Chris Stapel on ‘Post-Secondary Aspirations of
             Rural Sexual Minority Youth’ 

December 7th
:    William Samson on ‘An Evangelical Environmental Response  
             to Mountain Top Removal ’

2-day Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI)
Experiencing the 16 Types Program
November 29-30, 2007

Warren County Extension Office,
Bowling Green, KY

Hotel Information



Position Announcements


There are no available positions at this time

 Community & Leadership DevelopmentUniversity of Kentucky 500 Garrigus Building Lexington, KY 40546-0215
Phone: (859) 257-3471 Fax: (859) 257-1164 Questions/Comments
An Equal Opportunity University, University of Kentucky, College of Agriculture · Copyright ©    Last Updated:





  PG:   TOP | BOT