UK Holiday Schedule for the 2016-17 Fiscal Year (July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017)

The University of Kentucky observes the following holidays, except where continuous service is essential, in accordance with UK Human Resources Policies and Procedures #83.0 – Holiday Leave. Please refer to policy #83.0 for detailed information regarding holiday leave.

Holiday Date observed Day observed
Independence Day July 4, 2016 Monday
Labor Day September 5, 2016 Monday
Election Day November 8, 2016 Tuesday
Thanksgiving Day November 24, 2016 Thursday
Day after Thanksgiving* November 25, 2016 Friday
Christmas Day** December 26, 2016 Monday
Special Holidays/Bonus Days ***
To receive the Special Holidays,
you must be employed in a regular position
on or before October 30, 2016.
December 27, 2016 Tuesday
December 28, 2016 Wednesday
December 29, 2016 Thursday
December 30, 2016 Friday
New Year’s Day** January 2, 2017 Monday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day January 16, 2017 Monday
Memorial Day May 29, 2017 Monday
Independence Day July 4, 2017 Tuesday

* Employees of UK HealthCare who do not normally receive the Friday after Thanksgiving as a holiday are provided a “floating” holiday in place of this calendar day.

** Christmas Day and New Year's Day fall on a Sunday; therefore, the holiday is observed on a Monday.

*** Staff must be employed in a regular position on or before October 30, 2016, to receive these days. Regular employees with an FTE of 0.5 or greater shall be granted (4) Special Holidays (Bonus Days) off with pay on a pro-rata basis. Employees who leave employment at UK prior to January 2, 2017 are not eligible for special holidays.

Questions concerning holiday leave should be addressed to Human Resources, Employee Relations Office, at (859) 257-8758.

Go here to view the list of time entry holiday leave codes, as well as the attendance/absence codes »