UK Human Resources

Official Staff Holiday Schedule

UK Holiday Schedule for the 2015-16 Fiscal Year (July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016)

The University of Kentucky observes the following holidays, except where continuous service is essential, in accordance with UK Human Resources Policies and Procedures #83.0 – Holiday Leave. Please refer to policy #83.0 for detailed information regarding holiday leave.

Holiday Date observed Day observed
Independence Day July 3, 2015 Friday
Labor Day September 7, 2015 Monday
Thanksgiving Day November 26, 2015 Thursday
Day after Thanksgiving* November 27, 2015 Friday
Christmas Day December 25, 2015 Friday
Special Holidays/Bonus Days **
To receive the Special Holidays,
you must be employed in a regular position
on or before November 1, 2015.
December 28, 2015 Monday
December 29, 2015 Tuesday
December 30, 2015 Wednesday
December 31, 2015 Thursday
New Year’s Day January 1, 2016 Friday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day January 18, 2016 Monday
Memorial Day May 30, 2016 Monday
Independence Day July 4, 2016 Monday

* Employees of UK HealthCare who do not normally receive the Friday after Thanksgiving as a holiday are provided a “floating” holiday in place of this calendar day.

** Staff must be employed in a regular position on or before November 1, 2015, to receive these days. Regular employees with an FTE of 0.5 or greater shall be granted (4) Special Holidays (Bonus Days) off with pay on a pro-rata basis. Employees who leave employment at UK prior to January 1, 2016 are not eligible for special holidays.

Questions concerning holiday leave should be addressed to Human Resources, Employee Relations Office, at (859) 257-8758.

Go here to view the list of time entry holiday leave codes, as well as the attendance/absence codes »