Faculty Sustainability Council


The Faculty Sustainability Council (FSC) is a technical advisory group to the President’s Sustainability Advisory Committee (PSAC) charged with:

  1. Review the efforts of benchmarks and national leaders at integrating sustainability with their curriculum and research
  2. Evaluate strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and challenges of the current of state of sustainability in the curriculum and research at UK
  3. Propose short, medium and long-term goals for better supporting and promoting this integration
  4. Set in place an assessment and evaluation process

The FSC completed their report in June of 2018 and presented it to the Provost in July. Sustainability in Research and Instruction at the University of Kentucky: Challenges and Goals.  

Composition and Membership
  • President's Sustainability Advisory Council 
    • Krista Jacobsen, Horticulture
  • Tracy Farmer Institute for Sustainability and the Environment
    • Rebecca McCulley, Plant and Soil Science
  • Student Representative
    • Ben Troupe, Philosophy and Political Science
  • University Senate 
    • Kevin Yeager, Earth and Environmental Science
    • Margaret Mohr-Schroeder, STEM Education
    • Bob Sandmeyer, Philosophy
  • Provost and Vice President for Research
    • Mark Swanson, Public Health
    • Wally Ferrier, Gatton College of Business
    • Eric Reece, English
    • Fazleena Badurdeen, Mechanical Engineering
    • Greg Davis, Medicine
    • Helen Turner, Interior Design
    • Rebecca Bromley-Trujillo, Martin School of Public Policy and Administration
    • Lee Meyer, Agricultural Economics