About Us

Memorial Hall in Morning

The Election Law Society, consisting of current University of Kentucky law students and leading election law professor, Josh Douglas, is excited to offer the community an election analysis blog.  Our goal is to be a resource for election commentary, staying abreast of legal issues surrounding the election across the Commonwealth and the U.S., and blogging about it throughout the days leading up to the election, on Election Night, and in the days and weeks following the election. 

Executive Board

Chase Thomas, Co-President and Senior Editor
Chase is a second year law student at the University of Kentucky College of Law. As president, he interacts with faculty, law school personnel, and members of the media. He is one of two senior editors who reads and edits all material posted to the blog.

Jay Phillips, Treasurer
Jay is a first year law student at the University of Kentucky College of Law. As treasurer, Jay manages finances of the organization as well as creating and supervising the budget.

Silas Montgomery, Secretary
Silas is a third year student at the University of Kentucky College of Law. As secretary, Silas is chief record keeper of the organization and correspondence coordinator.

Jacob Sherman, Director of Operations
Jacob is a first year law student at the University of Kentucky College of Law. As director of operations, he manages the Election Law Society's website, publishes the final version of articles and corresponding images, and troubleshoots any difficulties the site may experience.

Class Representatives, Seth Woods (3L Class), Harlee Havens (2L Class), Chris Crigler (1L Class)
Joe, Seth, and Harlee are third, second, and first year students at the University of Kentucky College of Law. As class representatives, they reach out to their respective classes about chapter activity.

Professor Joshua A. Douglas, Faculty Advisor

Professor Joshua A. Douglas of the University of Kentucky College of Law teaches and researches election law and voting rights, civil procedure, constitutional law, and judicial decision making. He is the author of Vote for US: How to Take Back Our Elections and Change the Future of Voting, a popular press book that provides hope and inspiration for a positive path forward on voting rights. His most recent legal scholarship focuses on the constitutional right to vote, with an emphasis on state constitutions, as well as the various laws, rules, and judicial decisions impacting election administration. Find him at www.joshuaadouglas.com and on Twitter @JoshuaADouglas.




Our (former) Executive Team (from top left): Treasurer Aaron Meek, 2L Rep. Joe Scherpenberg, President Zack Damron, Advisor Joshua Douglas, Membership Coordinator Chase Thomas, Secretary Hannah Walker, 1L Rep. Seth Woods, and (kneeling) Vice President Shannon Rutherford. Not pictured: Jacob Sherman.


Contact the Election Law Society: