International Student Concerns Committee

The purpose of the International Student Conccerns (ISC) Committee is to monitor and address the concerns of international graduate and professional students and postdocs at the University of Kentucky. The ISC Committee works with other Committees in the GSC and organizations around campus (e.g., UK International Center) to find new alternatives to empower international graduate students. 

The ISC does this by:

  • Listening to the concerns of international graduate students
  • Helping international students through their graduate studies
  • Informing domestic people about the importance of international graduate students
  • Promoting cross-cultural experiences to create a collaborative environment
  • Communicating any relevant information for international graduate studies
  • Finding new alternatives to empower international graduate students

Everyone is welcome! If you would like to join the committee, please contact the Committee Chair, Kia Markussen (kia.markussen@uky.edu) or the GSC Chief of Staff, Amanda Slone (amanda.slone@uky.edu).

If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to us. We are here to help!


Happy Victory Day, Bangladesh (12/16/2020)

Transcript


Meet the Team

 

Kia Markussen

Chair

Program: Ph.D. Student in the Dept. of Molecular & Cellular
Biochemistry.

Home Country: Denmark

kia.markussen@uky.edu

 

 

Melissa Molho

Co-chair

Program: Ph.D. Candidate in the Dept. of Plant Pathology

Home Country: Mexico

mmo246@uky.edu

 

 

Angela Garner

Graduate School Liaison

Position: Coordinator of International Graduate Student Initiatives

angela.garner@uky.edu

 

Meet the Advocates

 

Eugene Antwi Boasiako

Program: Master's Student in Civil Engineering

Home Country: Ghana

 

 

Lan Jiang

Program: Medical Student in the College of Medicine

Home Country: China

lan.jiang@uky.edu

 

 

Oluwafeyisayo 'Feyi' Afolabi

Program: Master's Student in Electrical Engineering

Home Country: Nigeria

oluwafeyisayo.afolabi@uky.edu

 

 

Fernan Pérez

Program: Ph.D. Student in Entomology

Home Country: Mexico

frpe222@uky.edu

 

 

Lucas Araujo

Program: Ph.D. Candidate in the Dept. of Plant & Soil Sciences

Home Country: Brazil

lucas.araujo@uky.edu

 

 

Shravani Prakhya

Program: Ph.D. Candidate in the Dept. of Biochemistry

Home Country: India

shravani.prakhya@uky.edu

 

 

Renata Belisário

Program: Ph.D. Student in the Dept. of Plant Pathology

Home Country: Brazil

renata.belisario@uky.edu

 

 

Srinu Ippili

Program: Ph.D. Student in the Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

Home Country: India

sip222@uky.edu

 

 

Belinda Wamala

Program: Master's Student in the Dept. of Financial Mathematics

Home Country: Uganda

belinda.wamala@uky.edu

 

 

Martin Pedro

Program: Ph.D. Student in the Dept. of Civil Engineering

Home Country: Ghana

pedro.martin@uky.edu

 

 

Moses Desmennu

Program: Ph.D. Student in the Dept. of Educational Policy
Studies and Evaluation

Home Country: Nigeria

moses.desmennu@uky.edu

 

 

Duration of Status - Town Hall Forum PowerPoint (10/22/2020)

Zoom Recording of Winter Plans Workshop (11/24/2020)