INTERFAITH INITIATIVE

The Martin Luther King Cultural Center exists to promote communication, cooperation, and community among the diverse religious and spiritual groups and individuals of the University of Kentucky.  The University of Kentucky creates and supports transformative experiences of spiritual growth, ethical reflection, interfaith and intercultural dialogue, community service, and social action.

 

Ramadan FAQs

What is Ramadan?

It’s the Holy Month in the Islamic Calendar, when Muslims fast (also known as sawm) from sunrise to sunset for approximately 30 days. Doing so is one of the five pillars of Islam. The dates change annually as they’re determined by the sighting of a new moon – for many Muslims, from Saudi Arabia. The start and end of Ramadan will be declared the day before.

Can non-Muslims get involved?

Definitely. In the Gulf region many iftar and suhoor events are set up all over the country as a way to bring the entire community together. Even if you haven’t been fasting, you are still welcome to join. Here are a few ways you can get involv​ed…

• Exchange Ramadan greetings, especially at the beginning of the month. The word ‘Kareem’ in the phrase ‘Ramadan Kareem’ is the equivalent to ‘generous’, so the expression means ‘Wish you generous Ramadan’.

• Get into the charitable spirit during the Holy Month by donating to Ramadan camps, care packages and other charity organizations.

• Fast along with your Muslim colleagues for a day or two and break the fast together at the time of iftar.

What is iftar and suhoor?

Iftar is the meal to break the fast after sunset. Typically, people will enjoy dates, dried apricots and Ramadan juices, before heading to evening prayer. After that, large meals are the norm, usually with family and friends. Suhoor is a meal taken just before sunrise, before the day of fasting starts. Many hotels host smaller buffets, traditional activities and more to celebrate until the small hours of the morning.

What is the etiquette with regard to eating and drinking if you’re not fasting?

During Ramadan, drinking and eating in public is considered very offensive and can even attract a fine or a reprimand from the police. If an individual wants to eat or drink in daylight hours during Ramadan it has to be done indoors and out of sight or in designated screened-off areas within public places.

Are there any exceptions where it is acceptable to publicly break the fast?

Generally, fasting is not recommended to people who suffer from medical conditions or women who are pregnant. However, the same rules apply to them as well – not to eat or drink in public places and to use designated screened-off areas in public that are well hidden from view.

Useful phrases

Impress your Muslim colleagues and friends or simply stop a stranger in the street and rattle off a few of these (reasonably) easy to use phrases during Ramadan:

Ramadan mubarak = Blessed Ramadan

Ramadan kareem = Happy / generous Ramadan

Iftar shahy = Have a good iftar

Mubarak aleik al shahr = May you get the blessings of the month

Kil aam wa inta fee kheir = May each year pass and you be we

INTERFAITH CALENDAR

The Interfaith room is located on the 3rd floor of the Gatton Student Center. 

 

Spring 2021 RELIGIOUS HOLIDAYS COMPREHENSIVE CALENDAR

1-Jan Friday Mary,Mother of God Catholic Christian
1-Jan Friday Feast Day of St Basil  Orthodox Christian
1-Jan Friday Gantan-sai (New Years) Shinto 
5-Jan Tuesday Twelfth Night  Christian
5-Jan Tuesday Guru Gobindh Singh birthday Sikh
6-Jan Wednesday Epiphany Christian
6-Jan Wednesday Feast of Epiphany (Theophany)  Orthodox Christian
6-Jan Wednesday Dia de los Reyes (Three Kings Day) Christian
6-Jan Wednesday Nativity of Christ Armenian Orthodox
7-Jan Thursday Feast of the Nativity Orthodox Christian
13-Jan Wednesday Maghi Sikh
17-Jan Sunday Blessing of the Animals Christian
18-Jan Monday - Monday (25th) Week of Prayer for Christian Unity Christian
19-Jan Tuesday Timkat Ethiopian Orthodox Christian
25-Jan Monday Conversion of St. Paul Christian
28-Jan

Thursday

Tu BiShavat* Jewish
2-Feb Tuesday Candlemas- Presentation of Christ in the Temple Christian
2-Feb Tuesday Imbolc- Lughassad Wicca/Pagan (Northern and Southern)
3-Feb Wednesday St. Blaise Day Christian
3-Feb Wednesday Setsebun-sai (beginning of spring) Shinto
5-Feb Friday Four Chaplains Sunday Interfaith
8-Feb Monday Nirvana Day Buddhism
12-Feb Friday Triodion begins

Orthodox Christian

12-Feb Friday Chinese New Years  Chinese Traditional 
14-Feb Sunday St. Valentine's Day Christian
16-Feb Tuesday Vasant Panchami Hindu 
16-Feb Tuesday Shrove Tuesday Christian
17-Feb Wednesday Lent Begins Christian
21-Feb Sunday Triodion Begins Orthodox Christian
26-Feb Friday Purim Jewish
1-Mar Monday St. David of Wales Christian
2-Mar Tuesday - Saturday (20th) Nineteen Day Fast Baha'i
7-Mar Sunday Meatfare Sunday Orthodox Christian 
10-Mar Wednesday Lailat al Miraj Islam
12-Mar Friday Maha Shivaratri Hindu
14-Mar Sunday Cheesefare Sunday Orthodox Christian
15-Mar Monday Clean Monday Orthodox Christian
17-Mar Wednesday St. Patrick's Day Christian
18-Mar Thursday Waqf al Arafa Islam
19-Mar Friday St. Joseph's Day Christian
21-Mar Sunday Ostara-Mabon Wicca/Pagan (Northern and Southern)
21-Mar Sunday Norooz (New Year) Persian/Zoroastrian
21-Mar Sunday Naw-Rúz (New Year)  Baha'i
25-Mar Thursday Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary Christian 
25-Mar Thursday Mahavir Jayanti Jain
26-Mar Friday Khordad Sal (Birth of Prophet Zarathushtra)  Zoroastrian
28-Mar Sunday Lord's Evening Meal Jehovah's Witness Christian 
28-Mar Sunday Magha Puja Day** Buddhist
28-Mar Sunday Pesach Jewish
28-Mar Sunday Palm Sunday Christian
29-Mar Monday Holi Hindu
1-April Thursday Maundy Thursday Christian
2-April Friday Good Friday

Christian

4-April Sunday Easter Christian
8-April Thursday Yom HaShoah Jewish
13-April Tuesday Hindi New Year Hindu
13-April Tuesday-Wednesday (21th) Ramayana Hindu
13-April Tuesday Ramadan Begins Islam
14-April Wednesday Baisakhi (Vaisakhi) Sikh
16-April Friday Yom Ha'Atzmaut Jewish
16-April Friday First Day of Ridvan Baha'i
21-April Wednesday Ramanavami Hindu
23-April Friday St. George's Day Christian
24-April Saturday Lazarus Saturday Orthodox Christian
25-April Sunday Palm Sunday Orthodox Christian
27-April Tuesday Hanuman Jayanti Hindu
27-April Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti Jain
30-April Friday Holy Friday Orthodox Christian
30-April Friday Lag B'Omer Jewish
1-May Saturday Beltane-Samhain Wicca/Pagan (Northern and Southern)
2-May Sunday Pascha (Easter) Orthodox Christian
3-May Sunday Saints Philip &James Christian
4-May Thursday National Day of Prayer USA Interfaith
8-May Saturday Laylat al Qadr Islam
14-May Friday Eid al Fitr Islam
18-May Friday Tish'a B'av Jewish
23-May Sunday Declaration of the Bab Baha'i
23-May Sunday Pentecost Christian
29-May Monday Ascension of Baha'u'llah Baha'i
30-May Sunday Trinity Sunday

Christian

Fall 2020 RELIGIOUS HOLIDAYS COMPREHENSIVE CALENDAR

 

1-Sept Tuesday Ecclesiastical Year Begins Orthodox Christian
8-Sept Tuesday Nativity of Virgin Mary Christian
14-Sept Monday Elevation of the Life Giving Cross (Holy Cross) Christian
19-20 Sept Saturday-Sunday Rosh Hashanah Jewish
21-Sept Monday Paryushana Parva Jain
23-Sept Wednesday Equinox Wicca/Pagan
27-Sept Sunday Meskel Ethiopian Orthodox Christian
28-Sept Monday Yom Kippur Jewish
29-Sept Tuesday Michael and All Angels Christian
3-9 Oct Saturday-Friday Sukkot Jewish
4-Oct Sunday

St. Francis Day

Catholic Christian
10-Oct Saturday Shemini Atzeret Jewish
11-Oct Sunday Simchat Torah Jewish
12-Oct Monday Thanksgiving - Canada Interfaith
17-24 Oct Saturday Navaratri Hindu
18-Oct Sunday St. Luke, Apostle, & Evangelist Christian
20-Oct Tuesday Birth of the Bab Baha'i
22-Oct Thursday Christ the King Christian
25-Oct Sunday Reformation Day Protestant Christian
28-Oct Wednesday Milvian Bridge Day Christian
29-Oct Thursday Mawlid an Nabi Islam
31-Oct Saturday All Hallows Eve Christian
1-Nov Sunday All Saints Day Christian
2-Nov Monday All Souls Day Catholic Christian
12-Nov Thursday Birth of Baha'u'llah Baha'i
13-Nov Friday Jain New Year Jain
14-Nov Saturday Diwali (Deepavail) Hindu-Jain-Sikh
15-Nov Sunday Vikram New Year Hindu
22-Nov Sunday Christ the King Christian
24-Nov Tuesday Martydom of Guru Tegh Bahdur Sikh
26-Nov Thursday Thanksgiving Interfaith USA
28-Nov Saturday Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Baha Baha'i
29-Nov Sunday Avent Begins Christian
29 Nov - 4 Dec Sunday-Friday Advent Begins Christian
30-Nov Monday Birthday of Guru Nanak Dev Sahib Sikh
6-Dec Sunday Saint Nicholas Day Christian
8-Dec Tuesday Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) Buddhism
11-18 Dec Friday Hanukkah Jewish
12-Dec Saturday Feast Day-Our Lady of Guadalupe Catholic Christian
16-25 Dec Wednesday-Friday Posadas Navidenas Hispanic Christian
21-Dec Monday Solstice (Yule) Christian
24-Dec Thursday Christmas Eve Christian
25-Dec Friday Christmas Christian
26-Dec Saturday Zarathosht Diso (Death of Prophet Zarathushtra)  Zoroastrian
27-Dec Sunday Saint John-Apostle and Evangelist Christian
28-Dec Monday Holy Innocents Christian
31-Dec Thursday Watch Night Christian