College of Nursing Awarded Highest Accreditation as Provider of Continuing Education

Posted: October 12, 2015

University of Kentucky, College of Nursing is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation.

The accreditation has been granted with distinction, the highest recognition awarded by the ANCC, and will expire March 31, 2020.

The College of Nursing provides continuing education for advanced practice nurses, researchers, managers and scholars, so they may grow and function more effectively in their professional roles and contribute to society. Lifelong learning and the interdisciplinary exploration of new ideas, trends and developments are critical to the development and maintenance of a dynamic nursing profession.

According to Hazel Chappell, the director of continuing education in the College of Nursing, this success was possible due to “all those who served as consultants, on the review committee, who spent hours preparing documentation, who served on the Advisory Committee, members of the business office team, our teachers and presenters as well as those who listened and gave daily support.”.

Chappell earned her bachelor’s in nursing from Berea College and her master’s in nursing at UK. She has been the nurse planner and administrator for the College’s continuing education program since 1999. Under her leadership, the College has been accredited twice by ANCC for six years.

Chappell taught as a faculty member in the College from 1994-2002. She served as an ANCC appraiser from 2006-2012 and was an ANCC item writer for Nursing Case Management Certification (1997-1998) and for Community Health Nurse Certification (1994-1995). She was appointed to the Kentucky Board of Nursing from 1992-1996. Chappell has also served as treasurer of Sigma Theta Tau Delta Psi and President of district II KNA.

“The College is honored to have received this distinction,” said Dr. Janie Heath, dean and Warwick Professor of Nursing. “I could not be more appreciative of Hazel and her team for working relentless hours to successfully conduct a self-assessment and earn accreditation. Their rigor and commitment is a direct reflection of the College’s desire to help nurse leaders grow professionally and to positively impact patients in Kentucky and around the world.”

Members of the Continuing Education Advisory Committee for 2014-2015:

  • Mary Kelly McCullough, RN, MSN, Associate Medical Center Director/Patient Care Services, Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • Jennifer Peppiatt, MSN, RN,CNL, Chief Nurse Education, Research and Performance Improvement, Veterans Affairs Medical Center
  • Stephanie Fugate, MSN, ARNP-CS, Faculty, University of Kentucky College of Nursing
  • Anna Jones, Outreach Education Coordinator, Assistant Director, Southern Kentucky AHEC
  • Kathy Isaacs, PhD, RN, Director, Division of Nursing Practice Improvement, UK Health Care
  • Rebecca Garvin,  MSN, MBA,RN, Staff Development Manager, UK Health Care
  • Ruth Bellflower, MSN, RN,  Hardin Memorial Hospital, Elizabethtown, KY
  • Joy Hoskins, RN, BSN, MPH, Chief Nurse, Kentucky Department for Public Health, Frankfort , KY
  • Patricia Glass, RN, District School Nurse Health Science Coordinator, Jessamine County, KY School Nurses Association
  • Susan Ellis, MSN, RN,  SPHR, Vice President Patient Care Services, Highlands Regional Medical Center, Prestonsburg, KY
  • Vickie Risner, MSN, RN, Director of Education, Highlands Regional Medical Center
  • Frances Feltner, MSN, RN, Director Lay Health Worker’s Division KY Homeplace, Hazard, KY.
  • Ellen Wright, APRN, System Chief Nursing Officer, Appalachian Regional Healthcare
  • Nora Warshawsky, PhD, RN, CNE, Faculty, University of Kentucky College of Nursing

And a big thanks to those who served:

As consultants: 

  • Marcia Stanhope

On the review committee:

  • Karen Stefaniak
  • Stephanie Fugate
  • Pat Howard
  • Karen Minton
  • Rebecca Dekker
  • Tricia MacCallum

Those who spent hours preparing documentation: 

  • James Hayhurst
  • Tricia MacCallum
  • Peg Teachey

Those who served on the Advisory Committee: 

  • Leslie Beebe
  • Nora Warshawsky
  • Stephanie Fugate

And most importantly for her strategic insight and support:

  • Dean Heath