Virtual 2020 Celebration of Alumni Stars

Posted: August 31, 2020

To coincide with 2020 being declared the "Year of the Nurse," the UK College of Nursing is excited to honor 14 of its outstanding alumni with a first-of-its-kind virtual celebration this fall.

The CON's virtual 2020 Celebration of Alumni Stars will be held Thursday, Sept. 10, 2020, at 7 p.m. online via zoom and live-streamed on the CON's YouTube channel. The event will recognize three distinguished groups of CON alumni: the 2020 Hall of Fame Class, the CON "Fabulous Five," and recipients of the inaugural Dean's Puma for Outstanding Alumni. 

Event information

When: Thursday, Sept. 10, 2020, at 7 p.m.

Where: Live-streamed on the College of Nursing's Youtube channel

Who/what:  View the digital program or Download a pdf of the program 

Event contact: Joey Conrad, Alumni Program Coordinator,

Watch the event LIVE!

You can tune in to watch the 2020 Celebration of Alumni Stars live on the College of Nursing's YouTube Channel! 

On Thursday, Sept. 10 at 7 p.m., simply go to the CON's YouTube homepage and an event screen should appear.  There will be a slight time-delay so the event may start shortly after 7 p.m.  If you do not see an event screen pop up, try refreshing the webpage to get it to appear.  


2020 Hall of Fame Class: 

  • Dr. Susan M. Adams, PhD, PMHNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN,
  • Dr. Patricia B. Howard, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
  • Dr. Patricia K. Howard, PhD, RN, CEN, CPEN, NE-BC, FAEN, FAAN
  • Dr. Karen L. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • Dr. Karen R. Robinson, PhD, RN, FAAN

CON Fabulous Five:

  • Mrs. Marsha Hughes-Rease, MSN, RN, MSOD, PCC
  • Dr. Katherine S. Detherage, PhD, MSN, RN
  • Mrs. Alalia J. Mack, MSN, BSN, RN
  • Dr. Tukea L. Talbert, DNP, BSN, RN
  • Dr. Vicki Hines-Martin, PhD, CNS, RN, FAAN

Dean's Puma Award for Outstanding Alumni

  • Dr. Lora H. Beebe, PhD, PMHNP-BC, FAAN
  • Mayor Linda B. Gorton, BSN, RN
  • Mrs. Marsha L. Hughes-Rease, MSN, RN, MSOD, PCCMs
  • Delanor A. Manson, MSN, RN, BSN
  • Dr. Marjorie S. Wiggins, DNP, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN

About the awards

CON Hall of Fame

Established in 2006, the Hall of Fame is the College of Nursing’s highest honor. Created to recognize and honor graduates with extraordinary national and/or international contributions to advance the nursing profession through education, practice, service and/or research. While a new Hall of Fame class is typically inducted every five years, the College is excited to induct a mid-cycle class this year in honor of 2020 being designated the “Year of the Nurse and Midwife” by the World Health Organization and the American Nurses Association.

CON Fabulous Five

Recognized to coincide with the University of Kentucky's 70th Anniversary of Integration, the College of Nursing honors the first African- American graduates of each nursing degree program. With deep gratitude and appreciation for breaking barriers and leading change for nursing to be more diverse and inclusive, a commemorative art wall display is being installed to honor the College of Nursing Fabulous Five.

Dean's Puma Award for Outstanding Alumni

Established in 2015 by Dr. Janie Heath, the Dean’s Puma Award is awarded annually to those who “shepherd the flock” and make outstanding contributions for the College of Nursing. The puma is a Peruvian symbol of strength, agility, wisdom and patience; a symbolic leader who helps others reach their full potential. For the first time ever, and to coincide with the “2020 Year of the Nurse and Midwife,” this year the Dean’s Puma Award will be presented to notable College of Nursing alumni.