Campus News

UPK Author Rion Amilcar Scott Wins PEN/America Award

0 sec ago
University Press of Kentucky author Rion Amilcar Scott was named the winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Award for Debut Fiction for his book "Insurrections: Stories" during the PEN/America Literary Awards Ceremony held March 27 in New York City.      

Donations for Citations Stocks Big Blue Pantry's Shelves With 2,500 Pounds of Goods

11 hours 27 min ago
From Feb. 27 through March 10, Parking and Transportation Services accepted donations of nonperishable goods in exchange for waiving one regular parking citation of $25 or less under the Donations for Citations program benefiting the Big Blue Pantry.

UK Venture Studio Lunch and Learn Series Is Back for Spring

11 hours 27 min ago
Von Allmen Center for Entrepreneurship's popular Lunch and Learn Series is back.

UK Offers Incentives to Faculty, Staff for Football Ticket Renewals by March 31

11 hours 27 min ago
UK faculty and staff have extra incentive to purchase or renew season football tickets by this Friday, March 31.

Campus Partners to Host Immigration Forum

Fri, 03/24/2017 - 08:00
UK campus partners will host an immigration forum 6-7:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 29, in the White Hall Classroom Building. The campus and Lexington communities are invited to attend.

Telling a More Complete Story

Fri, 03/24/2017 - 08:00
In a blog by UK President Eli Capilouto, he announces the unveiling of the mural in Memorial Hall and the accompanying signage that tells about the artwork's creation more than 80 years ago, the artist's intent and the community's response over time. The mural by Anne Rice O'Hanlon has been the subject of debate on UK's campus and was covered more than a year ago while the campus community worked to properly place the artwork in context.

UK Public Seminars to Throw Light on Urban Forests

Fri, 03/24/2017 - 08:00
A pair of public seminars on urban forests will be hosted by UK on Wednesday, April 5.

Parking Restrictions on Streets Near Campus, Two Garages During UK Basketball Game

Fri, 03/24/2017 - 08:00
The top floors of the UK HealthCare Chandler Hospital and Good Samaritan Hospital parking garages will be restricted in preparation for UK's NCAA Tournament game Friday night.

World Language Showcase Slated March 25

Fri, 03/24/2017 - 08:00
Kentucky schoolchildren will visit UK this weekend to study languages and cultures of the world.

UK Appalachian Center Celebrates 40 Years

Thu, 03/23/2017 - 08:00
The Appalachian Center recently celebrated its 40th year on campus, recognizing the university’s partnership with the Appalachian region and honoring those who have contributed to the center’s development and success.

NCAA Tournament Pregame Pep Rally Slated in Memphis

Thu, 03/23/2017 - 08:00
Join the UK Alumni Association for a pregame party and pep rally Friday, March 24, at Alfred’s on Beale, 197 Beale St. at Third, Memphis.

UK's Popular Lawn Mower Clinic Expands to Take More Clients

Thu, 03/23/2017 - 08:00
If your lawn mower needs a tuneup, students in UK's Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering have an answer for you.

Parking and Transportation Services Offers More Convenient Options for Scratch-Off Permits

Wed, 03/22/2017 - 08:00
Parking and Transportation Services is now offering single-use scratch-off permits online as well as at the department's satellite office in the UK HealthCare Garage.

Panel Discussion on Memorial Hall Mural Part of 2017 Black Women's Conference

Wed, 03/22/2017 - 08:00
The 1934 mural painted by Ann Rice O'Hanlon on display in Memorial Hall has been a topic of campus debate for many years. This Friday, March 24, at 1:30 p.m. in Memorial Hall, UK's African American and Africana Studies Program will host a panel discussion after the mural's unveiling.

UK MBA’s GMAT/GRE Waiver Recognizes Professional Experience

Wed, 03/22/2017 - 08:00
Working professionals will face one less obstacle when trying to gain admittance to the Gatton College's MBA program.

Gatton College to Host Panel Discussion on Charter Schools

Wed, 03/22/2017 - 08:00
UK's Gatton College will be the site for a panel discussion on charter schools on Thursday, March 30.

Job Hunting? Job Club Teaches the New Skills Needed to Land a Dream Job

Wed, 03/22/2017 - 07:30
The skills needed to secure a job in today's market are not the same ones used even five years ago. The UK Alumni Association Career Services, UK Human Resources Career Development and Fayette County Extension Service combined their unique expertise to create the Job Club. Job seekers and employers alike attend Job Club meetings. To date, more than half those attending Job Club meetings have secured a job.

Office of LGBTQ* Resources Offers Scholarships, Research Grants

Tue, 03/21/2017 - 08:00
The Office of LGBTQ* Resources has opened its annual cycle of scholarships and grants available to students. The deadline to apply for a scholarship or grant is 5 p.m. Friday, March 31.

Nomination Deadline for Lyons Award is Friday, March 24

Tue, 03/21/2017 - 08:00
This Friday, March 24, is the deadline for nominations for the annual William E. Lyons Award, sponsored by UK's Martin School of Public Policy and Administration and the Department of Political Science.

Is There Justice for All in America?

Mon, 03/20/2017 - 08:00
The UK Chellgren Center offers an opportunity to view the award-winning documentary "Gideon's Army," the story of a group of young public defenders fighting daily for justice for the indigent. UK College of Law Professor Allison Connelly will speak briefly before the film.