College of Dentistry 2017-2018

DMD, Orofacial Pain, Orthodontics and Periodontics Programs

Tentative Calendar

Fall 2017 Semester

June
  • June 5 -- Monday - Academic Year Begins for 4th Year DMD Students (Clinics and Externships)


July

  • July 4 -- Tuesday - Independence Day -- Academic Holiday
  • July 5 -- Wednesday - Academic Year Begins for 1st Year Periodontics Students
  • July 10 -- Monday - Academic Year Begins for Orofacial Pain Students
  • July 17 -- Monday - Academic Year Begins for 2nd and 3rd Year Periodontics Students


August

  • August 7 -- Monday - Academic Year Begins for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Year DMD Students
  • August 7 -- Monday - Academic Year Begins for 4th Year DMD Students
  • August 7 -- Monday - Academic Year Begins for 1st Year Orthodontics Students, 1st Years Promoted to 2nd Year, 2nd Years Promoted to 3rd Year
  • August 7 -- Monday - Last day a 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Year DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry for a full refund for the current term
  • August 14 -- Monday - Last day a 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Year DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive an 80 percent refund for the current term


September

  • September 4 -- Monday - Labor Day -- Academic Holiday
  • September 5 -- Tuesday - Last day a 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th Year DMD student can officially withdraw from the College of Dentistry and receive a 50 percent refund for the current term


November

  • November 23, 24 -- Thursday and Friday - Thanksgiving Holidays -- Academic Holidays


December

  • December 15 -- Friday - Winter Break Begins After Last Class or Clinic for Periodontics and Orthodontic Students
  • December 22 -- Friday - Winter Break Begins After Last Class or Clinic for DMD, Orofacial Pain

Spring 2018 Semester

January
  • January 2 -- Tuesday Classes/Clinics Resume for Orthodontic students
  • January 8 -- Monday - Classes/Clinics Resume for All Students/Residents: DMD, Orofacial Pain and Periodontics
  • January 15 -- Monday - Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Observed -- Academic Holiday


April

  • TBD -- Spring Break for DMD, Orthodontics and Periodontics Students
  • TBD -- Spring Break for Orofacial Pain Students (National Conference)


May

  • May 11 -- Friday - Academic Year Ends for Graduating DMD Students
  • May 12 -- Saturday - College of Dentistry Hooding Ceremony -- Commencement
  • May 25 -- Friday -- Graduation Ceremony for Graduating Orthodontic Students
  • May 28 -- Monday - Memorial Day -- Academic Holiday
  • May 31 -- Thursday - Academic Year Ends for 3rd Year Graduating Orthodontics Students


June

  • June 8 -- Friday - Academic Year Ends for 3rd Year DMD Students
  • June 15 -- Friday - Academic Year Ends for 2nd Year DMD Students
  • June 22 -- Friday - Academic Year Ends for 1st Year DMD and 1st and 2nd Year Orthodontics Students
  • June 29 -- Friday - Last Day of Class/Clinic for Orofacial Pain and Periodontics Students