Awareness Training

Training requirements related to asbestos depends on the workplace exposure and classification. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) regulations created four classes of asbestos work, Classes I-IV, and established specific requirements for each class to ensure workers are protected from asbestos exposures.  UK Personnel are not authorized to perform Class I-III which includes work with the highest hazard potential.

Class IV work includes maintenance (i.e., plumbers, carpenters, electricians, etc.) and custodial activities in buildings with asbestos containing materials (ACM) and presumed asbestos containing materials (PACM) and is routinely performed by UK personnel.  Since such work may contact ACM and PACM but disturb such material UK personnel must be provided Asbestos Awareness Training as required by 40 CFR 763.92(a)(1).  Such training will be provided to applicable personnel upon their initial assignment and at least once yearly thereafter.

Asbestos Awareness Training presents information about key areas of safely working in UK-owned building and includes the following topics:

  • Health effects of asbestos exposure.
  • Recognize asbestos types and uses.
  • Potential locations of asbestos.
  • Recognize asbestos damage and deterioration.
  • Housekeeping requirements, including floor care.
  • Actions to take if asbestos fibers are present.