Faculty and Staff Awards 2015-16

2015 Staff Employee of the Year: Doug Long

This year’s recipient, Doug Long, has worked for the College since 2007. He is known for his flexibility, initiative, and expertise. Doug is integral to the success of the research enterprise at the College of Health Sciences. He was given praise from his nominators, regarding his ability to develop a rapport with research subjects, his time management and organizational skills, and his depth of knowledge about the IRB process. One nominator said, “Doug is simply fantastic in everything he does, and he goes above and beyond the call of duty every day.”








Staff Years of Service at UK

(Pictured left to right: Kimberly Barnes, Marie Poole, Dr. Scott Lephart, Loralyn Cecil and Melissa Miller.)


  • Kimberly Barnes, 5 years
  • Melissa Miller, 5 years
  • Kathy Schuler-Ringo, 10 years
  • Katie Lopez, 10 years
  • Marie Poole, 10 years
  • Amy Confides, 15 years
  • Loralyn Cecil, 15 years


Kingston Award for Excellence in Teaching: Dr. Tim Butterfield

The Kingston Award for Excellence in Teaching was established to reward innovation in the classroom, laboratory, and clinic and to recognize outstanding contributions and/or long term consistent excellence in teaching. The award committee noted that Dr. Tim Butterfield stands out for his breadth of experience, depth of personal reflection, and enthusiasm from supporters and former students. He is remarkably adept at balancing his roles as a researcher and as an educator and mentor. It is clear that the scope of his teaching and mentorship reaches well beyond the classroom. Perhaps a quote from a former doctoral student best summarizes Dr. Butterfield: “He often likens his teaching style to that of a wilderness guide, carefully creating an environment of security and respect, teaching the ways of survival, yet continuing to struggle alongside of everyone.”





Excellence in Research Award - Senior Investigator: Dr. Esther Dupont-Versteegden

The Excellence in Research Award - Senior Investigator recognizes the establishment of a productive, independently funded research program that has made significant contributions to the body of knowledge and made an impact in his or her discipline. Dr. Dupont has distinguished herself as a successful researcher throughout her career. Last year, as a result of her continued success in grant acquisition, publication, presentations and service to her field, she was promoted to full professor. She is currently a co-investigator on a $2.5 million RO1 NIH grant and recently completed two R21 grants as the principal investigator. Dr. Dupont is also a champion of undergraduate research at UK. In fact, four undergraduate students have been recognized by the American Physiological Society for their presentations of research done under her mentorship.



Distinguished Scholar Award: Dr. Susan Effgen

The Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes a faculty member who has made significant and lasting contributions to his or her discipline. This year’s recipient, Dr. Susan Effgen, is known as one of the most influential physical therapists in the nation, specializing in pediatric physical therapy and advocacy for children. Her influence on the care of children crosses disciplines of rehabilitation, including occupational therapy, physical therapy and speech-language pathology. Since 1985, she has been the primary investigator or co-investigator on grants totaling over $4 million, including funding to prepare future rehabilitation specialists. Dr. Effgen was recognized as a Catherine Worthingham Fellow by the American Physical Therapy Association, the APTA’s highest honor. She was honored by the Pediatric Section with an Advocacy Award that was even named after her.