CHS Celebrates Student Awards 2023

By Ryan Clark
CHS Communications Director

Scott Lephart, PhD and Dean of the College of Health Sciences, looked out over the crowd and smiled.

“Today, we’re honoring the most important people in our College,” he said. “Our students.”

On Thursday, faculty, staff, students, friends and family came out to the Gatton Student Center to celebrate the achievements of the students in the College of Health Sciences.

“As I look around the room, I see the future of the health care profession,” Lephart said. “In more ways than one, you’ve taught us.”

Awards were then given for things like service, ambassadors and academics — and the students themselves were appreciative.

Savannah Jones, 25, will soon become a two-time graduate of the College of Health Sciences (Human Health Sciences and Physician Assistant Studies). She took home the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service.

“I’m very grateful — and surprised,” she said. “It’s exciting. But in a way, it’s also bittersweet because I’m graduating. There’s such a family environment here in the College, it feels like I just got started.”

Kenta Mizumoto is a 22-year-old first-year Athletic Training graduate student from Japan. He took home the award for Outstanding Graduate Student in Athletic Training.

“It’s really an honor to be recognized for your hard work,” he said. “Of course, I didn’t work hard to win an award — I did it to be a good athletic trainer. But it’s nice when your work is recognized.”

In all, more than 50 students were presented with awards.

“Students, this is your day to celebrate,” said Karen Badger, PhD, MSW, and Associate Dean of Academic Affairs and Undergraduate Education for the College. “You make us proud. We know, beyond a doubt, that the future of health care is in capable hands.”

Student Awards:

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Service

Gabrielle (Gabby) Imfeld – Physical Therapy

Savannah Jones – Physician Assistant Studies


Marie C. Vittetoe Award for Excellence in Service to the Community

Jasmine Collins – Physician Assistant Studies


Maurice A. Clay Award for Service

Moncerrat (Monce) Bravo – Communication Sciences and Disorders


2022-2023 CHS Student Ambassadors

Casey Carter

Ellery DiVenere

Kaden Fox

Layne Singer

Olivia Crowe

Stephanie Mays

Teja Pidatala

Ella Monroe

Emma Pastirik

Kinsey Gilbert

Monce Bravo

Promise Kayembe

Stone Poole


Ambassador of the Year Award

Emma Pastirik – Human Health Sciences


2022-2023 CHS PATHfinders Peer Mentors

Samantha Lenox

Gabby Tenuta

Bryce Ramey

Payton Foreman

Hope Faulkner

Caroline Easley

Evelyn Anderson

Julia Rhorer

Lindsey Fiori

Natalie Eastone

McKenzie Cox

Claire Gulley

Amelia Mudd

Isabel Zook

Alex Flora

Ashlyn Martin

Emma Smith

Hope Tschosik

Kelly Chism

Mattie Mills

Ryan Goodson


Peer Mentors of the Year Award

Natalie Eastone – Human Health Sciences

Bryce Ramey – Human Health Sciences


Clinical Leadership and Management Academic Award

Madison Middendorf


Clinical Leadership and Management Involvement Award

Katrina Norris


Human Health Sciences Academic Award

Samantha Lenox


Human Health Sciences Involvement Award

Meghan Lyons


Center of Excellence in Rural Health Medical Laboratory Science Faculty Award

Tylan Collins


Medical Laboratory Science Faculty Award

Krista Pytka


Outstanding Graduate Student in Athletic Training

Kenta Mizumoto

Sidney Stephanchick


Outstanding Graduate Student in Communication Sciences and Disorders

Elise Craig


Scarlett Parsley-Hooker Award

Anna-Claire Wright


Physician Assistant Studies Award

Grace Moses – Morehead

Isaiah Wiles – Lexington


Eileen Van Dyke Rural Service Award

Austin Roberts


Physical Therapy Outstanding Student Award

Joseph (Seth) Hagan – Hazard

Briana Lanham – Lexington