Protect. Respect. Do your part. We are committed to providing an exceptional educational experience while safeguarding the health of our community.

Membership

​​Currently, CMB has 30 active an​d engaged members​ across 6 Colleges at the University of Kentucky. Center Members focus on various muscles with active research programs in areas including:

AGING - SEPSIS - HEART FAILURE - METABOLIC DISEASES - ARTHRITIS - CANCER - INJURY - EXERCISE

Comprised of both basic and clinical researchers, the CMB interacts with the Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS), Sanders Brown Center on Aging, Saha Cardiovascular Research Center and Markey Cancer Center, positioning us well for new translational programs and clinical trials.

Membership

NAME DEPARTMENT CONTACT
​Francisco H. Andrade, PhD
 

Physiology
College of Medicine

paco.andrade@uky.edu
 
Babak Bazrgari, PhD ​Biomedical Engineering
College of Engineering 
babak.bazrgari@uky.edu
​Lance Bollinger, PhD
 
Kinesiology & Health Promotion
College of Education
lance.bollinger@uky.edu
Tim Butterfield, PhD
 
Department of Athletic Training and Clinical Nutrition
College of Health Sciences
tim.butterfield@uky.edu
Leigh Ann Callahan, MD
 
​Internal Medicine (Pulmonary)
College of Medicine
lacall2@uky.edu
​​Kenneth Campbell, PhD
 
Physiology
College of Medicine
k.s.campbell@uky.edu
Jody Clasey, PhD
 
Kinesiology & Health Promotion
College of Education
jlclas0@uky.edu
​Robin Cooper, PhD
 
Biology
College of Arts and Sciences
rlcoop1@uky.edu
​Brian Delisle, PhD
Physiology
College of Medicine
brian.delisle@uky.edu
Sanda Despa, PhD
Pharmacology & Nutritional Sciences
College of Medicine
s.despa@uky.edu
​Esther Dupont-Versteegden, PhD
Department of Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
eedupo2@uky.edu
Christopher Fry, PhD Department of Athletic Training and Clinical Nutrition
College of Health Sciences
cfr223@uky.edu
Jean Fry, PhD, RDN Department of Athletic Training and Clinical Nutrition
College of Health Sciences
jfr282@uky.edu
Chintan Kikani, PhD Department of Biology
College of Arts & Sciences
chintan.kikani@uky.edu
Kate Kosmac, PhD Department of Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
kate.kosmac@uky.edu
​Charles Lutz, MD, PhD
 
Pathology
College of Medicine
ctlutz@uky.edu
Kirby Mayer, DPT, PhD Department of Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
kpmaye2@uky.edu
John McCarthy, PhD
 
Physiology
College of Medicine
jjmcca2@uky.edu
​Carole Moncman
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
College of Medicine
carole.moncman@uky.edu
​Jennifer Moylan, PhD
Physiology
College of Medicine
jennifer.moylan@uky.edu
Michael P. Murphy, PhD
 
Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
College of Medicine
mpmurp3@uky.edu
​Brian Noehren, PhD
Department of Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
b.noehren@uky.edu
Abhijit Patwardhan, PhD
​Biomedical Engineering
College of Engineering
abhijit@uky.edu
Charlotte Peterson, PhD
 
Department of Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
cpete4@uky.edu
Hiroshi Saito, PhD
​Surgery and Physiology
College of Medicine
hiroshi.saito@uky.edu
Jonathan Satin, PhD
 
Physiology
College of Medicine
jonathan.satin@uky.edu
Gerald Supinski​, MD
 
​Internal Medicine (Pulmonary)
College of Medicine
gsupi2@uky.edu
​D. Travis Thomas, PhD
 
Department of Athletic Training and Clinical Nutrition
College of Health Sciences
david.t.thomas@uky.edu
​Tim Uhl, PhD
 
Department of Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
tluhl2@uky.edu
Kristine Urschel, PhD
Animal and Food Sciences
College of Agriculture
klurschel@uky.edu
R. Grace Walton, PhD Department of Physical Therapy
College of Health Sciences
r.grace.walton@uky.edu
Guoqiang Yu, PhD
 
Biomedical Engineering
College of Engineering
guoqiang.yu@uky.edu

 


Muscles Studied

Center Members' research involves the study of various muscle groups, such as skeletal, cardiac, diaphragm, laryngeal, tongue and extraocular. Many research programs study multiple muscles.

NAME Skeletal Cardiac Diaphragm Laryngeal
​Francisco H. Andrade, PhD
 
X   X  
Babak Bazrgari, PhD X      
​Lance Bollinger, PhD
 
X      
Tim Butterfield, PhD
 
X     X
Leigh Ann Callahan, MD
 
X   X  
​​Kenneth Campbell, PhD
 
X X    
Jody Clasey, PhD
 
X      
​Robin Cooper, PhD
 
X      
​Brian Delisle, PhD
  X    
Sanda Despa, PhD
  X    
​Esther Dupont-Versteegden, PhD
X   X  
Christopher Fry, PhD X      
Jean Fry, PhD, RDN X      
Chintan Kikani, PhD X      
Kate Kosmac, PhD X      
​Charles Lutz, MD, PhD
 
X      
Kirby Mayer, DPT, PhD X X    
John McCarthy, PhD
 
X      
​Carole Moncman
X      
​Jennifer Moylan, PhD
X      
Michael P. Murphy, PhD
 
X      
​Brian Noehren, PhD
X      
Abhijit Patwardhan, PhD
  X    
Charlotte Peterson, PhD
 
X      
Hiroshi Saito, PhD
X      
Jonathan Satin, PhD
 
  X    
Gerald Supinski​, MD
 
X   X  
​D. Travis Thomas, PhD
 
X      
​Tim Uhl, PhD
 
X      
Kristine Urschel, PhD
X      
R. Grace Walton, PhD X      
Guoqiang Yu, PhD
 
X