The faculty of the SMRI is comprised of experts with backgrounds in athletic training, physical therapy, orthopaedic and pulmonary medicine, exercise physiology, epidemiology, nutrition, concussion, biomechanics, and bioengineering.

Sports Medicine Research Institute

Scott Lephart, PhD's picture
Scott Lephart, PhD Dean, Professor, Endowed Chair of Orthopaedic Research (University of Kentucky)
Nick Heebner, PhD, ATC's picture
Nick Heebner, PhD, ATC Director, Sports Medicine Research Institute, Assistant Professor
Matt Hoch, PhD, ATC's picture
Matt Hoch, PhD, ATC Associate Professor, Associate Director, Sports Medicine Research Institute
Dee Dlugonski, PhD's picture
Dee Dlugonski, PhD Assistant Professor
Kelly Calia's picture
Kelly Calia Administrative Services Assistant
Joshua Winters, PhD, CSCS's picture
Joshua Winters, PhD, CSCS Associate Professor
Reiley Bergin's picture
Reiley Bergin Research Analytic
Jeremy Ross, B.S., M.Ed., CSCS's picture
Jeremy Ross, B.S., M.Ed., CSCS Assistant Professor
Michaela Keener, MS's picture
Michaela Keener, MS Research Administrative Coordinator
Kimberly I. Tumlin's picture
Kimberly I. Tumlin Assistant Professor
Danielle Torp, PhD, ATC's picture
Danielle Torp, PhD, ATC Assistant Research Professor
Ke'La Porter's picture
Ke'La Porter Research Assistant

Associate Faculty

College of Agriculture, Food and Environment

  • James MacLeod, VMD, PhD

College of Education

  • Mark Abel, PhD
  • Ben Johnson, EdD
  • Robert Shapiro, PhD, FACSM

College of Engineering

  • Babak Bazrgari, PhD

College of Health Sciences

  • W. Scott Black, MD, MS
  • Timothy Butterfield, PhD, ATC
  • Ming-Yuan Chih, PhD, MHA
  • Esther Dupont-Versteegden, PhD
  • Phillip Gribble, PhD, ATC, FNATA
  • Johanna Hoch, PhD, ATC
  • Nathan Johnson, PT, DPT, PhD
  • Patrick Kitzman, PhD, MSPT
  • Carl Mattacola, PhD, ATC, FNATA
  • Brian Noehren, PT, PhD, FACSM
  • Charlotte Peterson, PhD
  • D. Travis Thomas, PhD, RD, CSSD
  • Timothy Uhl, PhD, ATC, PT, FNATA

College of Medicine

  • Jose Abisambra, PhD
  • Jody Clasey, PhD, FACSM
  • Stephen Duncan, MD
  • James Geddes, PhD
  • Dong (Dan) Han, PsyD
  • Carolyn M. Hettrich, MD
  • Robert Hosey, MD
  • Mary Lloyd Ireland, MD
  • Henry Iwinski, MD
  • Cale Jacobs, PhD, ATC
  • Darren Johnson, MD
  • Scott Mair, MD
  • Susan McDowell, MD
  • Eric Moghadamian, MD
  • Peter Morris, MD
  • Caitlin Whale-Conley, PhD, ATC

College of Nursing

  • Deborah Reed, MSPH, PhD, RN, FAAOHN, FAAN

College of Public Health

  • Glen Mays, PhD, MPH
  • Wayne Sanderson, PhD, MS

UK Athletics

  • Jim Madaleno, MS, ATC
  • Chris Morris, PhD